Jamestown Regional Medical Center is pleased to announce Megan Hillius, BSN, RN as the recipient of the 2024 Nora Melvold Paulson Excellence in Nursing Award. This prestigious award recognizes a JRMC nurse who demonstrates an unwavering commitment to excellence in nursing education, clinical practice, and leadership.

Megan began her career at JRMC in 2015 in the patient care unit before transitioning to the Family BirthPlace and later joining the JRMC Specialty Clinic OB/GYN team. She holds a Bachelor of Science in Nursing from the University of Jamestown. Currently, Megan serves as President of JRMC’s Shared Governance committee, where she is a strong advocate for patient safety, quality care, and workflow improvement initiatives.

“Megan’s dedication, compassion, and expertise in obstetrics have undoubtedly had a profound positive impact on our patients and the future of nursing. Her commitment to clinical and professional excellence is truly admirable,” said Mercede Fiebiger, manager of JRMC Specialty Clinic.

The nursing team at JRMC celebrating with Megan Hillius after she achieved the prestigious Nora Paulson Award for Nursing Excellence.

Outside of work, Megan enjoys camping and spending time with her husband Garret and their two children, Harper and Rhett. Colleagues respect Megan for her compassionate care, clinical skills and unwavering dedication to the nursing profession.

“Megan is most deserving of this award. Her passion for nursing excellence and commitment to exceptional patient care are apparent in all that she does for JRMC. She serves as a role model for her peers and a champion of continuous quality improvement initiatives,” said Trisha Jungels, Chief Nursing Officer at JRMC.

“I am deeply honored to receive this award named for such an inspiring nurse leader,” said Megan. “Nora Paulson embodied the type of nurse I strive to be each day. I share this recognition with all my colleagues at JRMC who work tirelessly to provide excellent care and create an exceptional experience for our patients.”

Nora Paulson History

 The Nora Paulson Award recipient is voted upon by their peers. The award provides an annual grant to a JRMC nurse who consistently embodies a commitment to excellence in nursing education and clinical care.

Award recipients can use the grant to their discretion. Many use it for education and training.

JRMC also dedicates a plaque to all the award winners and features an image of the award’s namesake.

Brian and Nancy Spector established the Nora Paulson Award in 2011 through the JRMC Foundation. The award honors the memory of Nora Melvold Paulson, a nurse who worked at JRMC for over 30 years and was known for providing compassionate care and mentorship to her fellow nurses. The recipient of the Nora Paulson Award is selected annually by a vote of JRMC nurses and nursing leadership.

Past Nora Paulson recipients include:

  • 2023: Emily Woodley, RN
  • 2022: Tara Simonsen, RN
  • 2021: Jess Linderman, RN
  • 2020: Jenna Bredahl, RN
  • 2019: Lisa Schrenk, RN
  • 2018: Marla Wegner, RN
  • 2017: Kacie Edwards Pahl, RN
  • 2016: Courtney Cook, RN
  • 2015: Lili Ruby, RN
  • 2014: Allison Danzl, RN
  • 2013: Renae Lunde, RN