During our nation’s pandemic, one nurse put the needs of others before her own. The nurses at Jamestown Regional Medical Center selected Jessica Linderman, registered nurse and surgery center manager, as its 2021 Nora Melvold Paulson Excellence in Leadership Award recipient.

Linderman joined the JRMC family in 2018.

“Jess is a servant leader; she puts other people’s needs before her own and positively influences those around her,” said JRMC Chief Nursing Officer Trisha Jungels. “She actively contributes to the personal development and performance of her team.”

Linderman supported the hospital and the community throughout the pandemic by acting as a steward for the organization’s resources. Jungels said she planned and managed all available resources for the betterment and prosperity of the organization, employees, and patients.

“Jess is successful in pulling people together for a common purpose. She creates a feeling of belonging to something bigger than each individual and fosters team spirit and a sense of community,” Jungels said. “A great example of this was during the novel coronavirus (COVID-19). Jess’ leadership and relationships allowed the Surgery Center to remain safe for patients to receive care, employees to work and providers to practice.”

Linderman lives in Carrington with her husband and three children.

Nora Paulson History

The Nora Paulson Award recipient is voted upon by his or her peers. The award provides an annual grant to a JRMC nurse who consistently embodies a commitment to excellence in nursing education and clinical care. A plaque with the names of all recipients is located on the lower level near the education center of JRMC.

Brian and Nancy Spector established this award nine years ago through a named-expendable fund with the JRMC Foundation. The award honors the memory and legacy of Brian’s grandmother, Nora Paulson, RN. Paulson dedicated her life to clinical excellence programs at what was then Jamestown Hospital.

Past Nora Paulson recipients include:

2013: Renae Lunde, RN

2014: Allison Danzl, RN

2015: Lili Ruby, RN

2016: Courtney Cook, RN

2017: Kacie Edwards Pahl, RN

2018: Marla Wegner, LPN

2019: Lisa Schrenk, RN

2020: Jenna Bredahl, RN

To support frontline workers at JRMC, visit www.jrmcnd.com/giving.

Learn more at www.jrmcnd.com.